MA Thesis Award

Cornelis Tiele MA Thesis Award

Named after one of the founders of the comparative study of religion, the Cornelis Tiele MA Dissertation Award is an annual award granted by the Dutch Association for the Study of Religion (NGG) for an outstanding MA or ResMa thesis within the academic study of religion. The award will be handed out during the annual NGG Spring Meeting.

The Award

The recipient of the Cornelis Tiele MA Dissertation Award is granted a prize of €200,- In addition, the winner will be offered a free one year membership of the Dutch Association for the Study of Religion (NGG), including the associated memberships of the European Association for the Study of Religion (EASR) and the International Association for the History of Religions (IAHR).


The award is granted to an excellent MA or ResMa thesis that showcases original primary research, clear analysis, and solid theoretical foundations. The thesis has to be written at a Dutch University, but can be part of an educational track other than religion studies. The thesis does, however, clearly have to fall within the domain of the academic and non-confessional study of religion. Candidates for the 2022 award must have completed the thesis between September 1, 2021 and August 31, 2022.


Nominations must be made by e-mail to before January 15th, 2023 (09:00). The nominator must be either the nominee’s thesis supervisor or a member of the NGG.

The applications should consist of PDF-files of the following, in either Dutch or in English:

  1. A short recommendations explaining why the nominated thesis meets the listed criteria
  2. The nominee’s thesis
  3. Documentation to show that the thesis has been completed and assessed.

Deadline: 15 January 2023 (09:00)

Award Committee
Jelle Wiering (chair – University of Groningen)

Justine bakker (Radboud University)

Past laureates

  • 2018: Bas van Rijn
  • 2019: Welmoed Wagenaar
  • 2020: Chunrong Zhao
  • 2021: Lucy Spoilar
  • 2022: Wouter Kock