news top
Feb 10, 2017

The call for papers has been released for the 2017 NGG lustrum conference, which will take place on 19-20 October 2017 and is hosted at the Unversity of Utrecht.



Young Scholars

One important objective for the NGG is to lend support to the next generation of scholars of religion. Therefore, in addition to three senior scholars of religion, there are two postgraduate students on the NGG board who represent this next generation.


Recently, the NGG has launched the Gerardus van der Leeuw Dissertation Award. This prize was awarded for the first time at the 2014 joint NGG/EASR/IAHR Conference in Groningen. The Van Baaren Stichting generiously sponsors half the prize money (which totals 650€).


To further encourage the involvement of young scholars in the academic study of religion, the NGG in 2016 organised a Master Class for PhD students in conjunction with the autumn conference. 


To benefit from these opportunities, the NGG encourages excellent graduate and postgraduate students to apply for membership