news top
Feb 10, 2017

The call for papers has been released for the 2017 NGG lustrum conference, which will take place on 19-20 October 2017 and is hosted at the Unversity of Utrecht.



Gerardus van der Leeuw PhD Dissertation Award

The Gerardus van der Leeuw PhD Dissertation Award is a biennial award granted by the Dutch Association for the Study of Religion (NGG) for a PhD dissertation that has made a substantial contribution to the academic study of religion. The award was first granted to Egil Asprem at the EASR conference in Groningen in 2014. The 2016 Award will be granted to Markus Davidsen at the NGG Spring Meeting. Deadline for nominations for the 2018 Award is October 1 2017.


The Award 

The recipient of the 2018 Gerardus van der Leeuw PhD Dissertation Award is granted a prize of € 650,- Half of this amount is generously provided by the Van Baren Stichting. In addition, the winner will be asked to deliver a keynote lecture at one of the meetings of the NGG in 2018. The recipient of the 2018 award will be notified by the end of the year 2017. 



The award is granted to a PhD dissertation that is deemed to have made a substantial contribution to the academic study of religion by combining innovative research, sound analysis of original material, a critical approach to established theories and clarity in formulation and style. Candidates must have defended their dissertation at a Dutch university and must be, or must become, a member of the NGG. Candidates for the 2018 award must have received the PhD degree associated with the nominated dissertation between September 1st, 2015 and August 31st , 2017. 



Nominations must be made by e-mail to secretary of the committee between July 1st, 2017 and October 1st, 2017. The nominator must be a faculty member at the institution that granted the nominee’s PhD degree, or a member of the nominee’s dissertation committee. Each nominator may make only one nomination. 

The applications should consist of PDF-files of the following, in either Dutch or in English: 

  1. A letter of nomination explaining why the nominated dissertation meets the listed criteria 
  2. The nominee’s dissertation 
  3. A brief biographical sketch of the nominee 
  4. Documentation to show that the PhD degree has been awarded. 
  5. If available: additional documentation underlining the quality of the dissertation (note of acceptance in a book series, cum laude documentation, etc.) 

Date(s): 1 October 2017

Award Committee